Specialized Turbo Vado 4.0 SL EQ

Kris Mason

Region
Australia
Hi Everyone,

Nice to meet you I am new to ebikes and exploring I’ve gone from $3k to $4k and now nearly $6k AUD whilst exploring models! Eeek. Now I’m getting cold feet. I’ve been reading lots, watching lots and reading heaps on here.

I rode a Merida heavier and more classic ebike style commuter (it was a hit dorky) it wasn’t for me, I rode a Orbea Vibe which I liked but it was one of the first ebikes I’d ridden so it was a great experience but I wondered what else is out there? It was also at 4K+ but when you added genuine Orbea rack and mud guards genuine it was 6 which puts it into completion with Specilaized.

A serious rider I know highly recommended specialized to me so here we are! And then another colleague has just bought the new 2022 Vado SL 4 EQ and has not yet had it long but is happy. I’ve also looked (online only) at Lekker but have concerns about buying a non big brand bike and at about 5k for a envolio GT Amsterdam.

I have a 12 year old Giant hybrid no suspension and disc brakes that cost $600-$700 about 12 years ago! Which still remarkably rides well. So why am I after an ebike?

I have a very young kid so looking at an ebike to reduce commute time as she goes to bed earlier (ride is approx 18kms) and to improve my fitness (in time that I currently spend to and from station and on train) I’m on the heavier side and keen to improve my health I’m in my late 30s, my commute now can vary but takes 45-55 mins each way on average.

I test rode this commute for the first time on my normal bike over the weekend and it was 2 hours and 15 mins round trip given I wasn’t always 100% sure where I was going (navigating) we rode 37kms.

My ride only has hills of any significance for the last 1km which are OK on a non ebike but would be a breeze I’m sure on any bike. Of course a push along with wind etc would always be nice - it’s cold, wet and dark here in the autumn/winter period.