Removing the speed limit of 20 miles/hr

Sai Kodi

I am looking to do some serious commuting on the RadRover during wet conditions. By serious I mean 26 miles each way 4 days a week. In order to do that, I want to be able to go at a much higher speed than being capped at 20 mph.

So I have 2 questions:
1. Beyond 20 mph - Has anyone been able to fool the system yet so it allows going above 20 mph? If so, how? I do understand that it will void the warranty and to be honest, I am past that blocker and am ready to set it free if possible.
2. Gearing - As of now, with PAS 5 and at 20 mph, its very difficult to keep up pedaling even in gear #7. Has anyone changed the cassette gearing to allow easy pedaling higher speeds?

I am new to the bikes world (transitioning from motorcycles). Still learning the terminology.

Note: Battery is not a problem since I intend to buy a second battery and carry it with me on the rack. Two batteries should be plenty enough to go 26 miles even at PAS 5.

Let me know what you guys think.

Well either that, or I get a different bike which is speed capable and comes with full fenders out of the box even if it has a slightly higher cost. I am not sure if the RadRover is good as a commuting bike.

Some motors can be overvolted for higher speeds. Unless is has a programmable controller and you get a more powerful battery you are likely stuck with the top speed. I don't know the model of motor or any details to answer more definitively.

You can set the motor cut off speed up to 25 mph (40 k/hr) for the Radrover on the LCD set-up screen.

- Turn the battery pack and LCD screen on
- press/hold the up and down arrows on LCD controller to enter set-up mode
- use the center "mode" button to scroll the options of wheel size, motor cut off speed, screen brightness, and mile or km for LCD display