Purchase advice : hesitating between two bikes

Salva846

Hello,

I would like to acquire an e-bike, I already did a lot research on the last couple of days but I am still new to the topic. Right now I am hesitating between two models which are a bit different :

- BMC Alpenchallenge AMP City Two : considerably lighter (18kg), but has a less powerful Shimano E6100 60Nm motor, a smaller battery (418Wh)

- Giant Explore E+ 1 PRO GTS : over 40% heavier at 26kg, but has a more powerful motor (Yamaha SyncDrive Pro 80Nm) and a 20% bigger battery (500Wh).

I also like the fact that the Giant has its battery incorporated in the frame so it's less obvious from the first glance that it's an expensive e-bike / I assume also harder to steal the battery (bike theft is a big issue where I live).

Is looking at the weight even relevant for an e-bike ? Or does the motor compensate for that so that it does not really matter anymore ? Some extra information :

- My daily commute would be around 20km, pretty flat. I would possibly go on occasional weekend bike trips but likely no more than 50km at once.

- I live in Europe so the assist is limited to 25km/h but I am thinking about having it unlocked (a significant portion of my commute are large straight roads with close to 0 traffic where I would easily be able to ride faster than 25km/h on a normal bike) - is it easier to do on one of these models maybe ?

I'm also open to suggestions for other bikes in the same price range (3000-3500€, flexible). Initially I wanted to get a Giant Fastroad E+ EX PRO but it is unfortunately sold out in my country and will not be produced again in its 2020 version.

Thank you !

Hello, I would like to acquire an e-bike, I already did a lot of research on the last couple of days but I am still new to the topic. Right now I am hesitating between two models which are a bit different :