Pace 500 Initial Impression and Mini Review

robrob

I'm a new Aventon.com Pace 500 owner and I want to share my initial impression of the bike. I'm 6'2" and 240lbs so I went with the large frame. I ride my bike for exercise and don't commute with it.

I'm a pretty good mechanic but it still took me about an hour to assemble the bike alone. Assembly went smoothly and I posted some assembly tips in another thread here earlier. If you're not mechanically inclined you may want to have a bike shop assemble it.

My gear shift lever needed a slight adjustment at the handlebar mounted adjuster. One turn out (tighter cable) stopped the gear jumping that occurred before the adjustment.

I'm very impressed with the quality of the bicycle and the way it rides, assisted and non-assisted. All of the other ebikes I have ridden had torque sensing assist and I prefer it to the Pace 500's cadence sensor. Torque sensing gives a more natural power boost. The more pressure you put on the pedals the more boost you get. With cadence sensing the boost is much more on/off. If you are pedaling, no matter the effort you put into it, you get the full assist level you have selected. It's definitely not a deal breaker for me but my next ebike (probably a KTM mountain bike) will be torque sensing.

On a related note I have to agree with an earlier poster who said the pedal assist level 1 is too fast at 12mph. I also got too much assist up steep inclines with level 1. I wanted to go slower and work a little harder. I zoomed up the inclines at around 10mph with moderate pedal work. I would prefer to climb at around 5 or 6mph with more effort. EDIT: I have learned that by lowering the bike's speed limit from 28mph to 19mph (30% decrease) you also decrease all the pedal assist speeds by 30%. You access the speed limit by holding down the up and down arrows simultaneously for 3 seconds, then press the "M" button (power on button) until you see Function 05P "LIMIT". Press the arrows to set the limit.