New Turbo Creo - First Impressions

PassoGavia

Region
USA
City
Roswell, Georgia
I purchased a 2021 Turbo Creo this weekend and took my first ride today. My first impression is “wow this bike is loud”. So loud that it crowds out all my other impressions.

I’ve ridden an Orbea Gain e-bike for three years and it has been a fantastic bike. My only complaint is the 20 mph cutoff. I bought a dongle and got an additional 1 mph, that’s all it was good for (see my writeup here).

I purchased the Creo because since I started riding in groups again post-pandemic, I get dropped on long flat sections. Even hiding in the pack I can’t make enough power to ride 22-26 mph. And the only Class 3 bikes available, in a pure roadie style, are by Specialized.

The Orbea looks enough like a normal bike that it’s rare I get any questions from other riders. I’m not trying to hide the fact that it’s an assist bike, I’ll always tell other riders who ask that it has a motor in the (obviously large) hub. But one of the things I like about the Gain is that it doesn’t do anything that continuously broadcasts “I’m an e-bike”.

But with the Creo, everyone in the pack will know the motor is running. At higher speeds it’s not too bad, but at 15+ mph there is a lot more wind and other noise. On climbs, it’s not only that you can hear the motor, but you can hear it changing pitch, a high, modulating whining sound. And at lower speeds, climbing in a pack, there is a lot less ambient noise, and it will be really obvious.

I’d read enough to know it was going to be louder, but I didn’t know anyone who owned one, and when I tested them it was always around the parking lot. Maybe it won’t be a thing at all, and I’ll love this bike. Certainly it is fantastic being able to ride by myself at 22-24 mph, even in the middle power setting.

Finally, note that while I’m complaining here, I do realize I’m remarkably fortunate and privileged to be purchasing my second high-end e-bike.