Need recommendations...

AJ5258

Hi. I’m new to the Ebike world. I’m searching for a bike for my wife as a birthday present. She’s 66 and very fit. I’m kinda in over my head with so many options. She would typically use the bike as a neighborhood cruiser ...no off road usage to speak of. The main unknown for me is that she would need to go up a fairly steep hill every day and the one thing I don’t want to do is buy a bike only to find that she needs to stop and walk it up the hill. She’s fairly light at 135#.
I’ve narrowed down my choices so far to the Biktrix Stunner, Amego Infinite and the Blix Aveny. Not having even seen any of these bikes in person it’s tough to choose.

Any recommendations? Is one type of motor better for power to get up the hills? I’m certainly open to other bikes as well. Just want them to be safe and have enough power to get her up the hill

Thanks

With my wife, I would give her a card with a gift certificate for a bike. No way would I try to fit a bike without the person riding it present.

Based your wife's requirement to steep climb hills, I would recommend that you narrow your search to mid-drive bikes.

The mid-drive motor allows you to use the full range of gears for optimized climbing performance... more details here:

Mid-drive motors were designed to improve upon a number of shortcomings found in hub motors.

The single largest advantage that mid-motors have over hub motors is their gear ratio. They allow the rider to power the rear wheel via the same chain and gear set as the pedals, which means that a low gear can be selected for powering up steep hills or accelerating from a stop with massive torque. A mid-drive motor in low gear can climb steeper hills than a hub motor of similar power, and can climb hills for longer than a hub motor, which could overheat on long steep hill climbs.