Magnum Premium LS broken seat post clamp

mysterymachine

Region
USA
I got a Magnum Premium LS today, at a bike shop 90 minutes from home. I am new to ebikes, but also only a casual cyclist. Two years ago I bought my first bicycle, which I used for recreation and short commutes, and I don't know a lot about maintaining bicycles.

While I was riding the bike again after I got home, the seat post became loose. It not only slid down to its lowest position, but it was also loose, and would freely rotate. When pulling it back up I saw that there was a white plastic ring that had cracked. I thought maybe it was because of the heat, but the temperature was only around 87 degrees which doesn't seem excessive. (But I am also 170 lbs which may be a bit heavier than the average cyclist...) It seemed to stay in place when I put it back up, but when I got on it, it wasn't long before my weight slid it back down again. I stopped at a local bike shop and asked about it, since I don't know much about repairing bikes, and they tightened the nut, but it didn't seem to help, becuase it went back to being loose after I got on it. The photo is after I got home; on the way back, the broken chunk fell off.

My first bike, a Raleigh Detour 2, also had issues with the seat post not staying up, which it could be fixed by tightening the bolt with a hex wrench. Therefore for the detour, in order to change the height, I have to get out a wrench and loosen it again. I liked that the Magnum didn't require that when I got it at the shop, only needing me to open and lose the lever to adjust the seat. But if it turns out I actually need to use a wrench to change the position of the seat post, this would be a huge inconvenience, because this model of bike requires you to remove the seatpost in order to remove the battery.