How long have you been riding a bicycle?

How long have you been riding a bicycle? Any bicycle, not just electric.

• Total voters

PDXzap

The recent thread about riding with no hands got me to thinking about all the miles and all the hours that have been ridden by the members of this forum. I know there are some tuff ol' birds here... so... I did a search and couldn't find any thread that was similar.
If, like me, you've had a hiatus for a time go ahead and post about it if you want.

My story, I started riding a bike when I was 4 or 5.
I had older siblings riding bikes plus other kids in the neighborhood to watch and study and I didn't want to be left out. We had two old newspaper bikes from the 50's and they were way too big for me but fate intervened.

My best friend was separated from me by one house and 364 days of age, but we were inseparable and that friendship spilled over and I was accepted by the rest of his family . He had two older sisters and one summer his sister Pati got a new bike with training wheels. I seem to recall trying it with the training wheels but it was maybe only a ride or two but soon Pati's training wheels came off and Pati was a bike rider and taking turns with me was out the door. Pati was 2 years older than me, summer vacation was coming to and end and it was time for Pati to start attending school.

Pati's parents gave me permission to ride her bike when she was in school and I started using Patie's bike, sans the training wheels, much like the balance bikes that are around today and soon had taught myself to ride and I was a bike rider.

It didn't take long and I was riding the newspaper bikes and I sure wish there were pictures of that.