Hello from Western Australia

Gongon

Thanks for accepting me.

After getting tired of climbing the hills at my local mountain bike facility, (Kalamunda Circuit, near Perth, Western Australia) I decided to cross over to "the dark side" and get an e bike.

Resisted for long enough, some said I would be cheating (the same people who get to the top of the hill in a truck!)

At 73, I have nothing to prove anymore, just want to have fun.

My 69 year old neighbour has a Giant Fathom e bike and he loves it but getting fed up with waiting for me!

I did try to get the same but, because of this Covid-19 crap, i would need to wait until September! (All of the bike shops are empty)

Alternative was to build my own (I am a retired engineer and love tinkering with my motorcycles etc.)

Having looked at the kits available, I decided to "go for broke" and get the most powerful mid mount available here - Bafang 1000W with 52w battery.

The fact that Luna Cycles have a shop within 30 minutes drive was a bonus, Rod was very helpful despite being in the middle of moving shop.

It isn't legal to use on the road but I never take a bike on the road anyway.

I took both of my mountain bikes into the store (both old Giants, one hardtail and the other a full suspension Anthem Le (my favourite))

Only the hardtail has enough space for the battery (52v 14ah) so that's the way I've gone.

3 hours to fit the kit (although I'm constantly fiddling to improve the installation - cable routing, controls etc.)

Battery mounting isn't the best. I had to drill a hole in the battery base to match the bottom bottle mount and still really need a third bolt. I have riv-nut kit but I need a 90 degree drill attachment to get in under the cross bar so I'm waiting for that to arrive.

I'm also looking for a piece of 50mm aluminium that I can machine to fit between the downtube and the battery base to give it a flat base to mount to.

Battery does work loose on a 2 hour downhill trail ride.