Hello from Spanish Fork, Utah

Phil Howell

Region
USA
City
Spanish Fork, Utah
Hi.

I'm new to the forum but have been watching Court's reviews for years. I'm a semi-retired automotive photojournalist who used to be the Editor-in-Chief of 4Wheel Drive & Sport Utility and Off-Road magazines. I've been riding bicycles for 65 years (started when I was five) and was a serious road bike rider in 1978-80 until my knees started to hurt. My first mountain bike was built by Tom Ritchey in 1981 and I've since owned many others, including Specialized Rockhopper, Stumpjumper, Cannondale Super V, Yeti 575 and SB-95, etc. In the e-bike world, I've owned a Specialized Como 4.0 (my wife's), Trek Rail 7, Rail 9.7, and Rail 9.8. Those are all gone now. I'm getting old and figured a Specialized Turbo Vado 5.0 fits my current riding style, so I purchased one. I'm looking forward to riding it and reporting how it works for me, especially going up the steep two-mile ascent to my house that's at the end of all my rides.

Last edited:
Hello from St George, UT. My husband does not have the riding experience you do but is looking at the Specialized Vado as his first ebike. I'd love to hear how it is working for you.

Hello from St George, UT. My husband does not have the riding experience you do but is looking at the Specialized Vado as his first ebike. I'd love to hear how it is working for you.