Hello from Northwest Arkansas

vertigo1

Region
USA
TL;DR:
  • I'm planning to start commuting by e-bike soon.
  • Waiting a few months for delivery of my Priority Current. (Online order)
  • Already considering another e-bike for my wife. (LBS)
  • Thanks for filling this forum with a wealth of information to empower my independent research!

Getting ready to go back to the office soon after working from home for a little over a year. I live very near a very decent bike path that cuts through the metropolitan area and happens to also have access very near to the office which I work. I have toyed with the idea of biking the 10 mile (each way) route for a few years but had convinced myself it was too impractical to double my commute time.

I have been keeping an eye on e-bikes for a few years now, but always considered them a little out of reach in terms of price for something that I perceived didn't fill any of my needs, but tugging pretty generously at my wants. Well, staying at home for a year has changed my perspective on this somewhat. I have had significantly reduced expenses (and stress) due to not driving a car every day, and now that I am preparing to go back to the office I want to try to hang on to at least some of that benefit even if my commute takes more time, especially considering that time cost is offset further by a little exercise and outdoor therapy that I typically don't make enough time for. I feel that I have found a practical purpose to fill with an e-bike and my previous reluctance is simple due to growing accustomed to commuting in a car over many years. I had considered purchasing a Zero FXS motorcycle about 5 years ago, but safety concerns eventually snuffed out that idea and I resigned myself back to the car commute being my only practical way forward, at least until a few weeks ago when I started weighing the pros and cons regarding a bicycle commute.