Fulfilling a dream

JedidiahStolzfus

Region
USA
City
Lancaster, PA
My wife and I have been working towards starting our own food truck for about 15 years. Of course, this is a difficult thing to do considering kids, school, and all the other things that crop up in life that just get in the way of fulfilling your dreams.

We originally were looking at trucks, but it's tough finding them, that they'll work with our menu, and at an affordable price. Then I hit some horses and killed our Suburban. We had never thought of getting a trailer because I knew the suburban wasn't gonna wanna pull a heavy trailer. When we got the Sierra, suddenly getting a trailer was a possibility. Last tuesday, one came up that suited our needs and was well within our price range.

Like most things that I buy, it needs work, but it's completely outfitted already and originally cost $26,000. We bought it for $3000. It is a salvage because it was in a crash, but a minor one. It currently doesn't have an axle, and the compressor unit for the fridge is nearly ripped off. The skylight is broken and there's glass everywhere. All of that is easily fixed.