First ebike for a heavy person

funnyletter

I'm looking at getting my first ebike. I'm a total noob and although I'm generally handy I know basically NOTHING about bicycles in general, so I'm a bit adrift.

I weigh about 300 pounds and have asthma so I'm hoping to find something that can do MOST of the work to get me up a hill if necessary (in case my asthma acts up when there's a hill between me and home). I think I prefer a more upright riding posture and would be riding on roads and paved trails for leisure and errands -- bonus for being able to carry 10-15 pounds of groceries/dog food but I'm kind of put off by cargo bikes because they just seem very large, especially since I would never be hauling more than I could carry in panniers or a basket on a rear rack.

I like the look of the RadCity step-thru but I'm worried about the 275 pound weight limit. I also like the sub-$2000 price but if I needed to go higher I could. I'm in the Seattle area so I'm pretty near RadPower, too.

There's also a Pedego store near me but I find the price a little off-putting. That said, if ~$3500 is what it takes to get a decent ebike that will haul me up a hill I can make that work.

Any thoughts on what I should be looking at?

Thanks!

See this thread about some bikes a 330 lb rider found: https://electricbikereview.com/forums/threads/help-choosing-for-heavier-rider.27770/