e-MTB - Flats or Clipped In?

MikeBCO

My 1st e-MTB arrives tomorrow. I am planning to set her up with flats. I have been riding MTB's clipped in for 20+ years. I gave flats a good persevering try and dropped it. I prefer to commitment factor of being clipped in, and I feel its more efficient for climbing. I know the flats/clipped debate rages on in MTB circles and most people love/have depending on which one they have chosen. My thinking is that riding an e-MTB is going to lead to a somewhat different riding style which will take some practice to become proficient in. So I figure change to flats while I'm at the bottom of the learning curve. Anyone else have some thoughts and/or experience on this one?

I ride flats, but with a half toe clip to keep my foot positioned and to stop getting smacked in the shins. It works well for me. I don't think you need to be nearly as efficient on an emtb. Also, when I fall, I don't want to be attached to that heavy 50+ lb bike!

I have been from OEM flat to clipless and then back to flat again. Clipless is good for extra burst of power and you work more muscle groups. However, it depends if your heart is also strong enough to supply needed circulation to all those muscle groups at the same time.

In most instances, the pedaling activity using flat pedal is more than enough of the heart's capacity to pump the needed circulation. If you are using clipped (mostly called clipless) you use more muscle groups which is helpful in short burst of extra power, but that extra power can only be sustained if the heart is strong enough and has the stamina.

Besides, short bursts of extra pedaling power is not really that important anymore on an ebike since you can just hit the turbo button.

I prefer flats. I use the Crank Brothers 5050-2. Wide pedal, adjustable studs. I didn't start MTB riding until I was 64. Not nearly enough confidence to clip in!

The last ~4 years flats and 5.10 shoes.

Currently

Flat pedals: Xpedo Spry