BBS02 mid drive pulsing, or twitching

Idgtech

Region
United Kingdom
Hi All I have a Bafang BBS02 which I have been running for over 12 months without any problems. On the last couple of trips out, I have noticed the pedals twitching or pulsing with loss and regaining of power. It is like 3 or 5 times a second so quite fast, but constant. It is more noticable when I am using more leg power.
The bike still pulls, but the twitching means it is not smooth.
I do not have brake sensors fitted, but I do have a gear change sensor.
Any ideas

I'd start by unplugging the gear sensor.
Any errors on the display?
Any brake indicator blinking on the display?
Do you have a throttle? If so does that work correctly?

Hi, no error indication on the display.
The bike has a throttle and works fine.
I unplugged the gear sensor and gave it a short ride. It seemed to stop the fast twitching. I rode to work next day and thought all was solved. However on the way home, the bike was again losing power but differently. It was more of a loose connection.
At one point it completely died. I reached down to see if the battery was hot. As soon as I touched the battery it sparked into life.
I quickly established a connection problem at the battery. When I got home I took it of to find a black burned pin on the plug between battery and base. It has clearly been getting hot. I have ordered a new one but wonder if this is a cause of the original pulsing or a consequence of it.

The battery connection goes bad from vibration and/or water ingress.
I'd guess that the battery was starting to have a problem and that the gear sensor accelerated it with pulsing power on/off.
If you briefly pause pedaling before shifting there's no need for the gear sensor.
12k mi/3 yrs without one and never broke a chain or had drivetrain issues.

Last edited:
Hi, what do you mean by calibration? Settings using the programming cable? Or some other method?
Thanks