Battery confusion regarding Ah and A

ebikeLeon

Hi,

I'm a beginner who wants to learn but there is a jungle of different information out there which only confuses me.

I have 2 ebikes I want to optimize.
One Richbit RT-012 1000V with a 48V 17,5Ah battery and one Beinaidi fatbike with a 1500w hub motor and a 22Ah controller which I don't have a battery to yet.

I'm wondering about several things.

I know peak power on the controller is what you want the continuous rating of your battery pack to be.

BUT, should a battery be used by its capacity or its max current?
The capacity of the Panasonic GA 3.7V cell is 3.5Ah which in a 14s5p cell pack is 17,5Ah and the max current is 10A which becomes 50A right?
The 3.5ah and the 10A confuses me.

So I guess I should get a battery with 45A continuous rating?

I'm on thin ice here.

Also,
The picture shows my 48V 17,5Ah battery for my Richbit RT-012, it seems it have 6 cell groups in series and 10 cells in paralell but there is also 5 cells in a row..
This confuses me also.
What kind of setup is this?

I appreciate all help on the matter.

Attachments

• IMG_20200115_123051.jpg
    IMG_20200115_123051.jpg
    164.8 KB · Views: 336
A battery with a BMS capable of 30A continuous will be sufficient. A being output Ah being total potential.
A 48V battery is 13S in series. DOn't let individual cells rating confuse you.

A battery with a BMS capable of 30A continuous will be sufficient. A being output Ah being total potential.
A 48V battery is 13S in series. DOn't let individual cells rating confuse you.
What is the math behind it, how do I calculate that 30A is sufficient for a 1500w motor with a 45A peak controller?

And regarding the picture, it really looks like they have welded 10 cells in paralell just by looking at the nickel strips but I guess it have to be 13 cell groups for it to be 48V.
It's just looks strange how they have done it on that battery.

Last edited: