Anyone use a trainer with your ebike?

irenewg13

Region
USA
City
MadCity, Peoples Republic of Madison
Are there specialized trainers for ebikes?

Can a regular trainer be used, with an ebike?

Thanks

What do you mean by a regular trainer? Are you asking about an ebike with hub motor? We're going to need more info.

Are there specialized trainers for ebikes?

To my knowledge, there are no e-bike specific trainers.

Can a regular trainer be used, with an ebike?

I do not see why not. The only difficulties would be if there was any obstructions on the bike's wheel axle that would prevent mounting the bike; for example, an internally geared hub would not work with a trainer. Also, because an e-bike is heavy, you might need a second person to hold the bike while you aligned the rear end of the bike into the trainer.

Last edited:
Being a complete noob on e-bikes and not knowing anything about trainers, I am trying to figure out why you would use an e-bike on a trainer. I suppose you could post some pretty impressive exercise stats?

It could be that the OP does not own a regular bicycle and does not want to buy a dedicated exercise bike. An e-bike does not have to be powered on to use in a trainer. Or maybe the OP just wants to burn some rubber!

We have used them at the shop at times for load testing bikes during inclement weather. Depending on the model you may need to modify the axle clamps for wire clearance, but for our use it was not an issue since we ran the bike in a power stand anyway. Have to check to see what ones we used. Not much need of them since we moved to the larger location can ride inside or ask one of the young robust guys or gals to brave the elements. Have to see what we have around not much call for them. We get them donated to the shop on occasion and usually pass them on.