Advice on eBikes to my facebook friends

Latitude

I just posted this on my facebook page:

So, as most of you know, I have been riding an eBike for a little over two months now... usually 30 to 40 km per day. Over 2750 km in total now. I thought I would share some of my experiences and observation... all of which are overwhelmingly positive (otherwise, why keep doing it). The eBike has gotten me back into biking enthusiastically in a way that’s hard to describe... you have to experience it.
1. Getting a good bike was worth it. I have two in the garage, department store quality, didn’t last a season. Battery issues, poor components, couldn’t keep them running. And having a good local dealer/mechanic makes all the difference.
2. Do lots of research. It’s hard to find bikes of any kind these days due to their exploding popularity during the Covid crisis. Stores have very low inventory. You might likely have to order without a test ride. Know what you expect of the bike... lots of assistance with a throttle vs lots of exercise pedalling (my preference). Electricbikereview.com is the best resource by far.
3. Learn basic maintenance and carry the bare essential tools onboard for it. A flat tire will happen (I’ve had two) and a chain could break if you ride off-road (which I do). Carry a multi-tool, spare tube, small hand pump, quick chain link, zip ties, etc. These repairs are easy, really!
4. Be prepared for a bit of an accident. Carry a first aid kit, insect repellant, sun block, a mask (for stopping at a store or market).
5. Don’t skimp on gear! A good helmet is a must... cheap ones are definitely false security. Bright coloured, moisture wicking jerseys and gloves are great. Good shoes are, well, good. A lightweight rainproof shell that will pack in a rack bag is good.