2015 Gazelle Impulse - to buy or not to buy?

Tabitha

Region
United Kingdom
Aloha.

I am new to electric bikes, but I have seen and test-ridden a second-hand Gazelle Impulse, bought in 2015. It has a torque of 70Nm, 7 gears, midi-motor which is not Bosch, and a seat battery that doesn't seem to be manufactured any more - or at least it looks like it is at the end of its time for being produced. I see only one seller for the battery, on e-bay, and when I asked them if the battery would still be available to buy in a year or so, they told me they could not tell me as they didn't know. However, I also see that it might be the type of battery that can be re-celled. I think the asking price for the bike is high for an 8-year old bike that has a battery like this (£925, lowest he says he will go is £800). I am considering asking to pay £500, but I am hesitant to pay even this if the bike requires a new battery at some point, and either they're no longer available/no longer repaired (either way the cost is around £333), but since I am pretty clueless about the whole affair I thought I would come here and ask your opinion. Should I bother with this bike, or give it a wide berth? What would you do?

Thank you.

STRONGLY DISAGREE with Duey but the battery on that bike is very old. I would NOT buy that particular Gazelle. Instead I would look for a newer used offering with a Bosch motor. Good luck. If you buy a new Bosch powered bike you would get the peace of mind of a 2 year warranty.

STRONGLY DISAGREE with Duey but the battery on that bike is very old. I would NOT buy that particular Gazelle. Instead I would look for a newer used offering with a Bosch motor. Good luck. If you buy a new Bosch powered bike you would get the peace of mind of a 2 year warranty.
Thank you, Steve, for your opinion. Bosch it is then.