2022 Nevo 3 or Homage?

wscott

Region
USA
Hi,

I am new to ebikes, but have been researching for over a year.

I am 47 year old 260lb guy and out of shape. I love to ride bikes, but have not done it for a while. I want a one and done bike that will last and be an excellent all-rounder, do anything bike. Good for around town, light trails, and once a year 2-3 day overnight adventures. Upright posture, sturdy, comfortable, reliable, as future proof as possible - are priorities. I see a future of really getting into it. I am willing to spend for quality, performance, and reliability. I have narrowed it down to R&M Homage Vario vs Nevo3 GX Vario . I have only ridden the Nevo 2019 model and liked it. I have questions for owners that would help immensely.

1) Why should I pick the Nevo 3 over the Homage?

2) Why should I pick the Homage over the Nevo 3?

3) Any advantage of the non-HS version over the HS version, besides cost?

4) What was the top alternative you considered, before buying your Homage or Nevo?

Being a large person myself (started biking at 305, now 235) I think the frames with more rigidity are better (something like the Charger). If you need low entry, they have Mixte frames which can help.

I haven’t tried the full suspension bikes for R&M but on other brands I have struggled with the suspension not being designed for guys our size. If you are set between these 2 models, then if it were me, I’d pick Nevo and I’d you need more suspension, then upgrade the seat post to the Kinekt 2.1 XL2 (have one, it’s amazing).

I prefer an upright posture. So I think the Nevo and Homage are more upright than the charger correct?

Good point about the rear suspension for bigger guys. How will it perform and hold up in the long run? If it can be adjusted for bigger guys and be reliable, I would prefer the comfort of rear suspension. If not, then you have me leaning toward the Nevo 3.

Any other thoughts?