Velec?

JohnCO

I'm new to ebikes, and looking at a Velec, made in Canada and sold in CA and the US. Anyone have experience with these?

Actually, lot's of them, @rich c ;). BionX, Ohm, Voltbike, Emmo, Daymak just to mention a few.

@JohnCO, from what I can find; Court hasn't done a review of the current Velec ebikes; however, there is some info at ElectricBikeReport from Sept. 2017 that includes the Velec products. It appears that Velec became a distributor for the Hero Eco ebikes, the A2B and intro level Fast4Ward bikes for Canada in 2012. Since A2B ceased business in the US a year or two ago, I don't know if Velec is still selling them in Canada.

I was curious if Velec was making bikes in Canada as John stated. I'd assume assembled in Canada at best.

It's doubtful, Rich. On the Velec website, there's a little maple leaf stamp below each product with the words "concu au Canada" next to it which translates as designed in Canada. I'm going to believe that these bikes are Asian imports. Many of their ebikes still have battery packs behind the seat tube which is an older, less expensive design.

Thanks! Velec is based in Montreal, but I beleive the bikes are sourced in China, I used "made" inaccurately. oops. Older models (three) have the battery behind the seatpost, newer ones (five) embedded in the downtube. Seem to be nicely featured; I'm most interested in any user experience/quality issues and integrity of the dealer network, if anyone has feedback.

So, just took a couple of test rides on my new Velec R48M (48 V mid-motor, nuvinci w/ CVT, Gates belt). First one, Vail Valley floor to my house, elevation gain 874 ft in 2.1 miles. Had the neighbors convinced I was a superhero till they noticed the battery. Next, Vail to the top of Vail pass, 2539 feet in 15 miles, mild spring headwind (per google maps). Passed a few 30-years-younger struggling riders, enjoyed the view, rode back down for a beer.

Correct the Velec line of bikes are made in China not Canada.