Known Issues & Problems with EV Global Motors Products + Help, Solutions & Fixes

Ann M.

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from EV Global Motors as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

Greetings all:

I just found this forum, and was cleared to participate. I guess that means I'm not a robot. Yea!
I am a tinkerer by hobby, and a retired electronics tech/Technical Manager by trade. My main hobby is repairing pinball machines, both electromechanical and solid state. I also ride my road bicycle about 1000 miles per year. (I'm a fair weather rider - nothing below 55 degrees, winds higher than 18MPH, and no wet surfaces.)

During one of my rides, I was talking with an elderly gentleman who became very excited about my ability to solder and troubleshoot electronics. Well, I offered to help him fix his Global Ebike, and now I'm stuck with this challenge. So far, I have found and repaired three things - A broken wire off of the battery strength indicator circuit board (Which also serves as a junction point), a pinched/open wire from the throttle potentiometer to the controller, and a bad pin on the connector from the throttle assembly to the controller.