Legit bike, or a scam?

none416

I'm brand new to e-bikes. I'm buying one for my less than 10 mile commute to work. I was originally looking for an izip dash http://electricbikereview.com/izip/e3-dash/ but looking on craigslist, this one caught my eye http://tampa.craigslist.org

I'm concerned that it's "too good to be true" and is a scam. Where I live, it can rain at anytime, and I want something of quality that won't get ruined in a rain storm or two.

Anything I should look at if this is legit? Is there such a thing as test rides when buying a bike like this? Anything I should know?

Some of the "kit" experts should probably weigh in on an opinion.

The Mac is a real motor. It would probably do about what they say. There's a good reason to ride the bike, and really test it: All the weight is in the back. That generally creates handling problems.

The battery is LiFePo, which will be heavy, maybe 25 pounds. The motor is another 15 or so, with the electronics. It could be a fairly unstable bike.

I'm with George... appears to be a really heavy bike and it will probably handle squirrelly... try riding it... Is there any way to mount the
battery more forward.... similar to the Steaths??

Last edited:
Not a good design. Rear battery in a cantilever rack heavy battery

That rack will fail in a year. The rear weight bias will make handling weird.

There's a Stromer for sale in Miami with two batteries. Check it out

The rear shock is also a lot more likely to fall with their setup, assuming the rack doesn't just drop right off the bike. The cost a poor bike for their build, only way to save it would be move the battery and motor to another setup, just not worth the time imho!

@JoePah hit the nail on the head! The battery rack will likely fail, too much weight on the seat tube and when it fails it could really hurt someone.

I'm concerned that it's "too good to be true"