Lectric XP premium chain guard

susyn

Region
USA
Hi,
Has anyone had any luck finding a chain guard for the Lectric XP premium? I would like one that is shaped like a comma so my clothing and such doesn't get caught in the chain or get grease on it.
I have contacted Lectric bike company but they are beyond frustrating in their refusal to answer the question. They neither make one nor can or will recommend an after market product. I will not recommend nor buy another bike from a company that frustrates me to the point they have, I didn't know if anyone else had a similar problem of their clothing getting dirtied and or caught in chains like I have and has figured out a way to get a chain guard on it. Since I am not an engineer and the people that are engineers at the Lectric bike company refuse to give me a recommendation, I am throwing myself on the forum in the hopes that someone has a solution for a mid drive motor e-bike chain guard.

I just use a pant leg strap to keep my lower right leg away from the chain. Technically the front sprocket has a chain guard already, but I'm like you and wan't it covered better-but that is on every bicycle I've ever owned. You could make something yourself or ask a local bike shop if they have any creative ideas. Slightly off subject but if you get a pant leg or shoe lace stuck in a belt drive bike it has a bonus fun factor of untangling yourself from the belt. The front sprocket doesn't freewheel backwards!

I was half debating removing my chain and cleaning it and the sprockets and using chain wax instead of chain lube. I used chain wax on all my bicycles in the past and its generally much cleaner. I think the Lectric factory uses cheap chain lube like all the other Chinese factories. Wait till you have to go into a hub or bottom bracket, the Chinese only use a Qtip dab of bearing grease per bearing side. But try chain wax or just clean the chain and gears and apply better quality chain lube.