First impressions: BMC Alpenchallenge AMP Cross LTD

ephemere

Region
USA
City
Bay Area, CA
Two days ago I received my first e-bike, the BMC Alpenchallenge AMP Cross LTD. This is a lightweight carbon-frame mid-drive fitness hybrid, I believe similar in concept to the Specialized Turbo Vado SL (mid-drive) and the Cannondale Quick Neo SL (hub-drive).

I am not a bike mechanic, but I hope to service this bike myself. It arrived with the front hydraulic disc brake way out of adjustment (not rideable). After some time on YouTube, I used the folded business card trick, but I still had to eyeball it for fine-tuning. I ordered this tool which seems to be a pro version of the folded business card. I need a torque wrench and a work stand. Due to the D-shaped seat post, I'm getting a dropout-style stand rather than a clamp stand.

I was hoping this bike would seem like a "normal" bike when the motor is off, and it does. Overall I prefer my Salsa for an acoustic ride, but the BMC is in the same ballpark and is a different experience with the flat bar. I've done two 30 km test rides. The first had 700m of incline, and I used the motor intermittently. The second had 250m of mild inclines, and I did not use the motor at all. I am not an avid cyclist by any means. I thought I would use the motor to flatten hills, but now I think I will use the motor whenever I want a break regardless of grade, and I will allow myself to attack grades unassisted. The motor is an insurance policy protecting me from digging myself into a hole far from home. For this reason, I think the restriction to USA Level 1 (32 kph) will be more than adequate for me, and I don't expect to pursue derestriction.

Somehow, pedaling out of the saddle doesn't feel nearly as good on this bike as on my Salsa, which is a bummer on climbs. I'm pretty sure this is because of the flat bar, and maybe something like a Jones Loop (see below) would help. Or maybe I just need to get used to it.