Excited to get my first electric bike

bdcycle1

Greetings! I've been riding a road bike off and on for the last 20+ years. I have ridden a Cannondale and a Specialized with drop bars until last year when I got a newer Specialized flat bar bike with some advanced features. Now that I've hit my 50's, put on weight and have some back issues I've all but given up riding (and recently moved into a more urban area of town making it harder to just jump on and take off). I miss riding and am looking to buy an electric bike and get back out there. I like that Specialized has "women's" bikes that feel as though they fit me better than some historically. A more upright design would be better on my back and probably a flat bar would be better on my neck but I don't want to be too upright. Not looking for a cruiser like feel, for sure. I need the exercise and I know having the motorized assist will make my rides more enjoyable. I miss riding out in (past would be more accurate.) the corfields as I used to before moving into town. I will probably need to transport my bike to more rural areas some times so I have concerns about replacing my bike rack with one that can carry the extra weight of an electric bike. So far I've test ridden a few bikes at my local shop but am honestly overwhelmed by all of the options out there. In addition, the current shortage of bikes on hand means I will likely have to wait a while before I can get one of the more popular models. Any guidance is appreciated!!

Welcome to the site and reentering the bike hobby.