Everything I've Learned About Riding my Bike

planschd

Region
USA
I ordered my bike in late summer and it arrived late December. I think there was a world-wide shortage of parts. In any case I was excited to unpack the bike. This was a Dost Kope with dual battery and mid-drive motor. My #1 criteria for purchasing an ebike was distance which for this bike was 120 miles. To-date I haven't seen any other bike close to this. There are 9 power levels and I believe the 120 miles is based on using level 1. Going down hill I can reach 32-35 mph. I started riding the moment weather permitted although I had to wear a lot of clothes for winter months. But this is June 2021 and the weather is nice. I average 15-20 miles each day, for about 2 hours total. The limiting factor is not the battery life, but the amount of time I can sit in the saddle. I did find an old bike that had a grandmother type Schwinn saddle and installed that. This helps a little bit. Someone else said there are bicycle shorts which are padded (I haven't tried this yet). In our county helmets are not required. But I did purchase clear glasses which nicely wrap around the eyes. This is important because at faster speeds (and windy days) the eyes will dry out. Plus there can be dust and bugs in the air. And I have a cap to prevent sun burn with alligator clip in back to retrieve if it flys off my head. Lastly, it is good to have bungee cords on back of bike so that when needed, you can strap something down. And i have a bike lock.