Crowdfunding

TheMike

Region
USA
Has anyone on here went the Indiegogo route? I’m new to the crowdfunding site and am not sure I understand how it all works. Any feedback would be appreciated.

I dont think it is worth it the bikes I have seen are overpriced and I have seen some serious scams Plus you may wait a long time. I have been seeing just repeats of bikes already available.

With Indiegogo once you give them any money, refunds and charge backs are not allowed. Even if the project is not fully funded. Kickstarter does allow you to pull out until the project reaches its funding goal.

Backers are not purchasing anything. You are backing a project that may or may not be real and often a stranger you know nothing about. If you are lucky you will receive a dividend in the way of a perk. Technically it is capital gains and is taxable, if you worry about that sort of thing.

Five years ago I backed an ebike Kickstarter by Neal Saiki, founder and inventor of Zero electric motorcycles. At the time he invented, what appeared to be a high tech system. He pulled out, along with his inventions. His partner kept the campaign going with a completely different, and poorly conceived bike. Luckily it was before the project was fully funded. I pulled out, along with many other members here. I got lucky. Never again.

Sure, if you like to donate your money away and never expect anything back.

Since you asked, this is my answer:

https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/a_fool_and_his_money_are_soon_parted
Yes, I understand why its a great idea for people trying to raise funds, but so illogical for consumers to do.