Class 3 ebike for hilly city

RichM

Hi everyone. I’m new to EBR and ebike. I’m looking at purchasing an ebike soon
I was looking at class 3 bikes. I live in a very hilly city with not very good roads and not many bike lanes (Worcester MA area). I was looking at the Specialized Varda 4.0 vs Trek Allant 7+. I’m not locked into anything at the moment and looking for suggestion.

Be aware that class 3 bikes are prohibited on bike trails of any sort because of their speed capability, so you will be limited to street riding with that choice.

Be aware that class 3 bikes are prohibited on bike trails of any sort because of their speed capability, so you will be limited to street riding with a class 3 bike.
I didn’t know that. thank you I can see where that would make sense. Is this across the US.

Yes, it is. There's a bit of patchwork due to local exemptions, but in most places, class 1 (pedal assist only, to speed 20mph) are permitted on any trail that allows ebikes. Class 2 (pedal assist and throttle, top speed 20mph) are permitted on many to most trails, and class 3 is prohibited on everything but roads.

I think there's a forum here with regulations by state, but I may be mistaken.

I didn’t know that. thank you I can see where that would make sense. Is this across the US.
Note that the Federal definition of a bicycle limits motor power to 746 watts (1 horsepower). Bikes with higher powered motors like some options of the Bafang Ultra have lots of power that go well beyond this limit, but they are not bicycles under federal law and are thus restricted to private property. Some riders scoff at these restrictions and run the (small) risk of getting cited and the larger risk of bringing more restrictions on the whole category.