Brose motor failure

Pkamen

Brose motor failure after 6 months of riding. Pulled motor apart and found bottom bracket bearing seizure due to corrosion. Possibly caused by crossing a small creek several weeks before failure. Any other mtb riders have similar issues with water entering the bottom bracket?

Brose motor failure after 6 months of riding. Pulled motor apart and found bottom bracket bearing seizure due to corrosion. Possibly caused by crossing a small creek several weeks before failure. Any other mtb riders have similar issues with water entering the bottom bracket?
I am new to ebikes. Will this be covered under warranty? Also, are we suppose too avoid washing an ebike with a water hose?

That's worrisome! I've ridden through several streams on my Bulls E-Stream FS3+ in its ~500 trail miles with no issues so far, approaching 1 year owning it. That's supposedly a sealed bearing, no?
I am new to ebikes. Will this be covered under warranty? Also, are we suppose too avoid washing an ebike with a water hose?
I rinse carefully and use minimal pressure, especially around the BB and other sensitive areas.

To me, total submersion is out no matter what the company says, I'm just not going to do it. Getting the motor wet is something else. I agree with no water pressure around the motor, battery, and display for clean up. You'd have to ask the manufacturer about the warranty.

My opinion is just a wild guess with no specific knowledge. Pkamen wrote that the bottom bracket bearing was seized due to corrosion, possibly
the result of crossing of a creek several weeks earlier.....

I question if enough corrosion could appear in 'several weeks' to seize the bearing. I'm not saying the failure didn't happen as described. I guess if the
bearing was dry, no grease prior to getting wet, rusted and further pedaling after the creek visit could cause the rusty bearing to tear up the