An e kit to do appx 55 to 60 miles per day in windy and hilly conditions

Peter061049

Region
United Kingdom
Any suggestions on an e kit that lets me (73 years old) to do appx 55 to 60 miles per day in windy and hilly conditions without the worry of getting home

For a kit, I am not sure that is possible, but maybe others will chime in. For an integrated eBike? Maybe, but that is going to be really tough-- both to pull off, and to calculate! It depends very much on how much wind and how much vertical and what kind of shape you are in.

I am 64 and my (integrated) bike has a range of just over 40 miles with just over 4,000 feet of vertical and minimal wind, but a lot of the energy is being supplied by me-- and I only take those long rides after I've been training hard for a couple of months, taking plenty of breaks, and hydrating adequately. It all depends on how much work you want to do.

With only 2,000 feet of vertical, maybe it could do 55 miles, but I will never find out because there are too many hills here!

Wind is a fiendishly difficult variable to figure when you are estimating range. I have a second bike that is a kit from Clean Republic, and it has a range of about 15 miles with 1,400 feet of vertical or so... but on a windy day, it stranded me once after only 9 miles.

The 'without the worry' part is gonna be tough! For longer rides with lots of vertical, I'm always calculating elevation and checking weather forecasts, same as I would for surfing or skiing or sailing, though I'm looking at different numbers.

If you don't use the motor, your range is infinite! If you're a no pedal throttle person, you might get 20 miles. There are so many variables....

60 miles with a kit bike is a lot easier than with a store-bought bike, because you have the freedom to add more battery. You don't have to do it with one big battery, but can do it with two. That allows you to carry just one for shorter trips, and not have an extra 5-6 pounds to store on the bike.