Added rack, trouble getting on/off bike...

GrayFox

Yesterday I had my LBS add a rear rack for my Vado SL5.0.

Unfortunately this addition is giving me grief because I now find it very difficult to get on/off the bike because I have trouble lifting my leg over the rack (adding a trunk bag at this point would make getting on/off impossible). I had to tilt the bike a good bit to get on/off before adding the rack.
IMG_0537.jpg

Any suggestions on how to get limber enough to solve my problem?

I am in my early eighties, weight 215 pounds and typically ride 20 miles with about 650 feet of climbing every other day.. I have been riding regularly for about 11 years.

Thanks for any insights....

I'm 20 years your junior and solved that problem by getting a step through (or low step) frame. I'm more concerned about comfort and safety than I am about looks or speed. I have nothing to prove to anyone and really enjoy my rack and rack bag.

I know my reply is of no help to you and does not address your question. Your problem will continue as long as you want a rack & rack bag on a traditional diamond / triangle frame. It is kind of like the guy who complains he can't tow a boat or haul a load of wood in his sports car.

Your situation is exactly why we all need at least 2 bikes!

Is it the combo of the rack and seat, or just the rack? If it's getting the height to clear both, could a dropper seat post perhaps help you at all? Maybe try and drop your seat all the way and just test the swing to see if it lets you lean over the frame more, resulting in less leg angle when you mount? I find my rack doesn't bug me too much by itself, but the oversized seat I use does seem to make it tougher. I like my suspension seat post, but I admit I long for a dropper pretty regularly too.

Either way, I'm not a fan of trunk bags for that reason. I have a couple but don't use them in favor of simple panniers that seem to get in the way less, and keep the weight lower.