Replacement Gazelle Ultimate C380+ Pedals

Jim1348

I broke a pedal on my Gazelle Ultimate C380+ during my ride this afternoon.

Should I replace with the same pedals that it came with or should I look for something different?

I broke a pedal on my Gazelle Ultimate C380+ during my ride this afternoon.

Should I replace with the same pedals that it came with or should I look for something different?
If the pedal broke in normal use, there's your answer. Assuming you're after platform pedals, but soooo many choices available.

I get good grip and durability from aluminum MTB pedals with spikes for extra grip. But my legs run afoul of the spikes at times, and some people don't like them. Some spikes are longer and more aggressive than others, and some are adjustable.

Nylon pedals would seem to be tough and lightweight, but I have no experience with them.

Use the forum search function. Lots of pedal discussions to give you ideas. You don't need to spend top dollar to get good pedals.

Beyond the functional considerations, colorful pedals can add a nice visual accent, like shoes. If my favorite $40 MTB pedal came in colors, I would have been sorely tempted to get orange for one bike and blue for the other.

This thread is suddenly relevant for me. One of the pedals on my 13 month old (2500 miles) Ultimate T10+ wore out as well. This is notable because it's the first thing that's malfunctioned on the bike since I had it, I haven't even had a flat tire. Another odd thing is that my bike came with a second set of pedals, the bike shop had no idea why and perhaps they were included in error. Sadly I gave those away so now I'm looking. Probably a nice flat MTB style pedal with a good grip is the way to go--my #2 fear while biking is having a foot slip off the pedal. I like that the Raceface pedals come in colors, I'm wondering if I want to match or contrast with the shiny red paintjob on the bike.