2nd Round of my Rhino's (Rover) Upgrades for Long Distance riding

Kyogiro

Region
Europe
City
Paris (France)
So first things first. I can do the basic stuff on my bikes if I have too. Changing tires/tubes, changing drive system/cassette/freewheel, changing cables, replacing the chain, etc.... but I don't like it at all and I wouldn't say I'm good at it. I learned the basics because I used to be a non professional triathlete and I didn't want to be stuck away from home during my training because of the flat.

1) Tubeless tires

So, 3 months ago, I first turn my tires into tubeless using the "ghetto" split tube method. I was planning to take my Rhino on some long trips and I could anticipate that removing the rear wheel would have been a hassle. Fixing flat on tubeless tires wouldn't require to remove the wheel nor the tire if the hole wouldn't be too big. So far, I didn't need to worry about that since I remain flat free (for now).

IMG_20200627_183520.jpg

IMG_20200627_204611.jpg

IMG_20200627_205041.jpg

IMG_20200627_205307.jpg

2) Bolton Upgrade Controller

So after 3 long months, I finally received my Bolton Controller. Already had the 750W bafang motor (you can also see the stock Rhino motor and the 750W side by side). I tried the Rhino with stock motor and the upgraded controller for a day. Installation was smooth and easy.

IMG_20201002_202606.jpg

3) Bafang 750W Hub Motor

Here is where things get "interested". So at first, after trying to unscrew the old motor, I figured I didn't have the right tool (I would advise anyone to watch the CitizenCycle video first on YouTube in order to get the right tools and not afterwards like I did). So fast forward an hour and I purchased the right tool to do the job.

3.1) Unscrewing the new motor : easy. The Motor is out.

IMG_20200924_191346.jpg

IMG_20200929_184344.jpg