Purchasing a new Electric Bike soon for commuting. Need help!

hi! you’ll be riding right past both of my childhood homes ;)

I’ll second the questions about sustaining a 25mph average speed, and also that it would be a real shame to buy a bike for this commute and not take it out into the hills sometime.

best way to hold those speeds IMO and have some flexibility for the mountains would be a drop bar class 3 gravel bike, like the topstone neo carbon referenced above, or the turbo creo evo. both will easily eat that distance on a daily basis, and on the drops in the higher boost modes you can probably sustain 25mph. i’m 6’2 and 195 and it takes around 300w total to sustain 25mph on flat ground on a road bike on the drops. i’m an amateur in all ways and feel comfortable putting out 200 for an extended period. the extra 100w sustained is well within the reach of either of those two bikes, with resulting battery life of 3-5 hours.

both are a bit over your budget, the topstone has full suspension, bigger battery, but is heavier.

hi! you’ll be riding right past both of my childhood homes ;)

I’ll second the questions about sustaining a 25mph average speed, and also that it would be a real shame to buy a bike for this commute and not take it out into the hills sometime.

best way to hold those speeds IMO and have some flexibility for the mountains would be a drop bar class 3 gravel bike, like the topstone neo carbon referenced above, or the turbo creo evo. both will easily eat that distance on a daily basis, and on the drops in the higher boost modes you can probably sustain 25mph. i’m 6’2 and 195 and it takes around 300w total to sustain 25mph on flat ground on a road bike on the drops. i’m an amateur in all ways and feel comfortable putting out 200 for an extended period. the extra 100w sustained is well within the reach of either of those two bikes, with resulting battery life of 3-5 hours.