What's the ebike wattage rating? 750W = 1 horsepower? or is it simply the consumption of electricity.

Timpo

First of all, I'm not an engineer and I am a complete amateur when it comes to this topic.

So I have seen several posts here on EBR how 750W ebikes make approximately 1 horsepower because 750W can be converted into 1.01972 hp.

But is this actually the case?

If so, from engineering perspective, your 100W light bulb in your room = 0.13 horsepower light bulb?

I did a quick Google search and came across this website, it doesn't seem to be the case.
There are different types of wattage, and they do not seem to be interchangeable.

I went to Wikipedia, and there are different types of wattage.

Object's velocity
{\displaystyle \mathrm {1~W=1~{\frac {J}{s}}=1~{\frac {N{\cdot }m}{s}}=1~{\frac {kg{\cdot }m^{2}}{s^{3}}}} }

Electromagnetism
{\displaystyle \mathrm {1~W=1~V\cdot 1~A} }

Ohm's Law
{\displaystyle \mathrm {1~W=1~{\frac {V^{2}}{\Omega }}=1~A^{2}{\cdot }\Omega } }

So, the wattage shown on ebikes are simply the Voltage x Amp = W and has nothing to do with the horsepower generated by the motor. (or so I thought)
One thing was Ohm's Law, it says that unit conversion can be done by Ohm's law. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watt so I guess they are interchangeable?

Bolton Ebikes posted a YouTube video how two different motors could both drain 750W of electricity and still get different result because of the power difference due to the efficiency of motor.
They are both rated at 750W, but one had more heavy duty construction and better magnet, just because they could both drain 750W of energy, didn't mean the power (output of motor) was equal.

So what this told me was that 750W in ebike world, wattage was figured out by battery voltage, amperage transferred by the controller and not the horsepower generated by the motor itself.

Can anyone clarify this? 🤔

First of all, I'm not an engineer and I am a complete amateur when it comes to this topic.