Trek Corporate Retail Store Acquisition Challenges

Alaskan

Over the past two years I have patronized our local Trek store in Bellingham for parts, accessories and most importantly for repairs on my Riese & Muller bikes. The nearest Riese & Muller dealer is almost 100 miles away. They were not selling R&M when I bought my first one so I developed a great relationship with LA Fly Rides. Although I am a reasonably capable mechanic there are times when I need a pro. As both Trek and Riese & Muller use Bosch electrical systems and Trek has a policy of working on any bike, the local store just a mile from my house was a great option.

I really came to like and admire how the store was staffed. Great manager, friendly helpful crew all around with very capable, well trained mechanics. I liked them so much and had a chance to learn more about Trek products, hanging around there, I ended up buying a new Allant+9.9s from them. It has had more than its share of problems but the mechanic is a gem and has been on top of every issue.

Then covid 19 arrived. The store stayed open but with stringent hygiene procedures. The manager's family situation dictated he resign and move back to his home stat

That left the crew without a manager for weeks with little communication, asking more and more of them.. Many of them quit, leaving them without a mechanic and me with my nice new Allant and no local support, at least for now.

This is what happens in America these days. Some corporate behemoth with a bunch of MBA bean counters thinks that they can take over the world. In the case of Trek, they bought out many of their established dealer's shops and put them under corporate control. The Bellingham shop had been under local ownership for over 40 years and was a respected local business. The owner got a nice, fat retirement package and now the shop he built has no one to run it.