New to EBR

JonnyD

Region
USA
Hello All,

My name is JonnyD, I live in Colorado Springs, CO. A few days ago I purchased a Canyon Grail:ON CF 8, my first E-Bike. I've been riding a Trek Boone 7 as a gravel bike for the last 3 years and love this bike, I'll keep riding it if my hip allows. The reason I purchased the Grail is I'm 65 going in for a left hip replacement next week June 16, I have no idea how I will recover or if I will have the strength to ride, so I purchased the E-Bike, lol, good excuse, right?! I do have couple questions about the Grail, hope someone can answer my questions as Canyon could not answer them. Regards, JonnyD

Attachments

• IMG_4739.jpg
    IMG_4739.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 118
Welcome! Nice bike. I whish you a speedy recovery. Physical Therapy will put you on a stationary bike first thing.

Welcome to the forum Jonny!

For what it's worth, I'm 76 and have had both hips replaced. This was also the reason I purchased my first e-bike. I was back in the saddle 5 weeks after the first operation and 4 weeks after the second. My doctor says cycling is the best therapy after a hip replacement.

It's been 4 years now since the second operation and I have had no problems whatsoever. I now ride 50+ miles in a single outing. My only regret was waiting so long to have them done. I couldn't ride at all for almost 3 years before the replacements.

Good luck!