My review of the ZEM Samurai

Sassypants

Region
Canada
Buying an ebike was a daunting task. I was particular with the bike I was willing to commit noticeable dollars to. I wanted a mid-drive and belt drive, no questions. By fluke I stumbled across the ZEN Samurai. I love the fact it is a Canadian made bike with both of the major components I was looking for. It was extra cool when the Co-founder (Ravi) reached out to answer any questions. Blair in service has been excellent, especially considering the online purchasing of a bike. I've been riding my bike for a couple of months now and feel I can give a legitimate review of my experience. The Bosch Powertube 500 easily meets my riding needs, and it exceeds the estimated range. On a full charge and set to Eco mode, the estimated range has always been over 100 km (even as high as 121 km). The Bosch CX motor has been a disappointment for me though. The ZEN has made me realize when riding my traditional pedal bike, I must ride faster than I had realized. Considering the CX is a class 1, with the motor cutting out at 32 km/hr (31.7 to be precise), I find it doesn't add to my riding capabilities. By that I mean, I can ride beyond 32 km/hr but when the motor cuts out, the weight of the bike becomes very noticeable, and maintaining a speed beyond 32 km/hr becomes a less than desirable challenge. What the CX does do is allow me to maintain a constant riding speed (below 32 km/hr) in any conditions, that's it. One of my regrets is not signing the liability waiver to get the Speed motor. I believe I would have been much happier with that configuration. Part of my leaning to the CX was potential bi-law changes to address ebike use on AT pathways. Not sure if that will ever be a concern, but I played it safe. I am also not the first to draw attention to the charging port cover. It is a real pain in the butt to get closed, especially on the first try, or second, or... I hope this is something ZEN addresses in the future. I upgrad