Help me design an e-bike for urban commuting

WilleT

Hi, my name is William and I’m an industrial design student from Lund, Sweden. In my ongoing project I’m designing an e-bike for urban commuting with the focus on bike safety. Do any of you commute in the city and how to you lock up your bike? Just with locks or do you bring the battery and other components with you when leaving the bike outside? Do you feel like the bike is safe when you leave it? Other things I should think about? Any comments are welcome to help my project move forward. Thanks!

Security and safety are great to think about.

I use a Kryptonite u lock, but wish the storage clamp was more secure. A bike frame with a built in mount would be awesome but more importantly I wish I had a rear wheel lock on my Surface604 Rook. Nobody makes one to accommodate wider fenders like my 3"ers.

Now on safety, I LOVE the lighting integration on the Smartmotion Pacer. Give me five years and I'll be buying hat bike! The back lighting and down lighting made possible by led strips, large capacity bike batteries and Bluetooth are unlimited.

There was recently a bike reviewed that wouldn't let you start the bike without an rfid tap to the bike computer. If someone took this further and had it unlock a frame lock on the back wheel, security would be pretty solid in conjunction with a solid ulock.

I'm brainstorming. Anybody else have a ebike they covet and a reason why?

Hi William, I have warm memories of Lund having worked on a project with Tetrapak for two years. Fun times and great people there. But I never drove an EPA tractor . Here are some thoughts for your project.

1) Multiple.locking mechanisms. Thieves can defeat any lock, but two or more requires more time and having different tools. Cafe lock is helpful for quick stops. Movement alarm also activated.