Chainring selection

I have watched videos, read google searches. After only putting 60 miles or so on my e bike I want to gear it lower.
First gear is crazy fast with full throttle on sand trails. I have a 1000 watt mid drive Bolton e bike 26" fat tire bike.
I noticed the bike seems to go fastest on the road in like 3rd gear ( it has 7)
My thinking is changing the front chain ring to a smaller one can only help?
Gearing it down i might have to use the higher gears on the street but it would pull real nice on sand and hills.
When i checked with Bolton they said the chain ring has little offset since it was designed as an e bike??
I do not need to go 35 mph on an e bike even on the road.
Any suggestions where to get a proper chain ring? should i go to an e bike shop? ( i was a truck mechanic so handy but worried about getting the correct gear)
is there any drawback to gearing it lower

Modifying your bike will void your warrenty.
Biggest US internet supplies I've found are modernbike.com and thebikeshopstore.com. Davidbrown in UK is highly competent but stuff might get stolen in customs like my recent Newark order.
Competitioncycling is competent but carries only high end racing gear. I bought my helmet there since only racers prevent breaking their chin with a chin guard.
No US supplier provides any dimensions on anything they sell. The tooth count might be right. Whether the mount holes will line up is totally up to chance, and your estimation of the picture. Shimano & sun websites are worthless on dimensions, pretty good on sales blather. I bought 4 rear sprockets and none of them fit.