A tale of two bikes, and my first four months of riding!

mschwett

Region
USA
First, thanks to everyone who makes this a great forum to discuss and learn!

I got my first bike in over 20 years at the start of the year, a vanMoof S3. It's a unique bike, mid-range in price, powerful (59nm), class 1 (20mph), 504wh battery, front hub drive, 4 speed automatic in the rear hub, and great anti-theft features for the city. I use it with a thule yepp next maxi for my 3 year old, and since I bought it have pretty much used it for 75% of my daily trips within the city. In addition, I loved riding so much that I started riding for exercise, which for me is a bit complicated because of an inherited heart rhythm condition (multiple open heart surgeries over the years, I have an ICD, and take antiarrythmics and beta blockers) that requires I keep my heart rate below 130 and averaging around 110, avoiding extended high output cardio.

I quickly got into longer rides on the S3, probably not exactly what a fairly heavy (45lb) upright flat bar ebike is meant for, but it worked and I enjoyed it.... so much that I ended up getting another bike, for the exercise/fun rides - a turbo creo comp carbon.