E-Glide Battery Upgrade

Mike N.

I thought I would start a new thread on the E-Glide Li-Ion battery. I mentioned "
The Lake Mead area has taken me to the extreme limits of what my E-Glide can do. I have run out of juice twice before getting back to my car. Your pretty much dead in the water going uphill without the electric assist. I sent a note to Dave at E-Glide about purchasing an additional battery and also his thoughts of making one with additional amperage. I found this site: (Link Removed - No Longer Exists) and under specifications it looks like we have the 48V 11.6Ah version. Its possible to get a 48V 13.6 AH in the same model battery holder. That would give it about a 20% increase in range. I'll let you know what comes of that. Since this is my first E-bike I'm still learning. Some batteries go up to 17Ah but I dont know if it will fit our bike frame. The battery we have now has been plenty of power for 95% of my rides."

I found a company that makes a 48V 13.5Ah battery using the same case as our E-Glide battery. I'm assuming at this point it would just lock in like ours but have not contacted the company to verify on all the specifics.

Here is a link: https://lunacycle.com/flx48vbattery/

So for $550.00 plus shipping you would get a battery that will produce an additional 20% of the power of the original battery. Aprox 30% of the cost of the bike. Seems like a better option would be when the original battery has gone through it's life of charge cycles which I'm thinking about 1000 charges, you would have the option to upgrade your existing battery. And at that time there might be more options.

Last edited:
I have also found Juiced Bikes use a similar down tube case like ours. Their Oceancurrent and Crosscurrent models have either a 48V 8.8Ah and a 48V 12.8Ah. The 48V 12.8Ah retails for 699.00! Good batteries are expensive!

They have a nice battery chart on this page: (Link Removed - No Longer Exists)